2023 Committee members involved in Education Policy/Funding


Senate Education Committee

House Education Committee

Joint Committee on Ways and Means

Education Subcommittee of the Joint Committee on Ways and Means

Legislative officers

Oregon Senate Democratic Caucus Leadership

Oregon House Democratic Caucus Leadership


Most of the day-to-day events in the legislature will be posted to committee home pages including agendas, meeting materials, and bills being assigned to that committee but the legislature's home pages haven't been updated for that yet. 

Please4 look the list over and plan to get to know your own legislators AND thier legislative aides.

Find out who they are at https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/FindYourLegislator/leg-districts.html

It is very helpful to start now, because as the session gets under way, your legislators will be completely buried in work.

Rob Wagner from Lake Oswego is the most powerful person in the legislature AND he has assigned himself to the Senate Education Committeee.


Education Committees for 2022

Senate Education committee:

Sen. Michael Dembrow, Chair
Sen. Suzanne Weber, Vice Chair
Sen. Lew Frederick
Sen. Dick Anderson
Sen. Sara Gelser Blouin
Sen. Art Robinson
Sen. Rob Wagner

House Education committee:

Rep..Courtney Neron, Chair
Rep. Zach Hudson, Vice Chair
Rep. Boomer Wright, Vice Chair
Rep. Tracy Cramer
Rep. Emily McIntire
Rep. Hoa Nguyen
Rep. Andrea Valderrama

Joint Committee on Ways and Means
Sen. Elizabeth Steiner, Co-Chair
Rep. Tawna Sanchez, Co-Chair

Sen. Fred Girod, Co-Vice Chair
David Gomberg, Co-Vice-Chair
Greg Smith, Co-Vice Chair

Sen. Wlnsvey Campos
Sen. Dick Anderson
Sen. Michael Dembrow
Sen. Lynn Findley
Sen. Lew Frederick
Sen. Bill Hansell
Sen. Sara Gelser Blouin
Sen. Tim Knopp
Sen. Janeen Sollman
Vikki Breese-Iverson
Jami Cate
Paul Evans
Paul Holvey
Susan McLain
Kanh Pham
E. Werner Reschke
David Brocjk Smith
Andrea Valerrama

Ways and Means Education Subcommittee

Sen. Lew Frederick, Co-Chair
Rep. Susan McLain, Co-Chair
Sen. Suzanne Weber
Sen. Michael Dembrow
Rep. Tracy Cramer
Rep. Emily McIntire
Rep. Hoa Nguyen
Rep. Ricki Ruiz

Legislative officers

Senate President Designate: Rob Wagner (D-Lake Oswego)
Senate President Pro Tempore Designate: James Manning (D-Eugene)

Oregon Senate Democratic Caucus Leadership:

Senate Majority Leader: Kate Lieber (D-Beaverton)
Senate Deputy Majority Leader: Janeen Sollman (D-Hillsboro)
Senate Majority Whip: Sara Gelser Blouin (D-Corvallis)
Senate Majority Whip: Lew Frederick (D-Portland)
Senate Assistant Majority Leader: Kayse Jama (D-Portland)
Senate Assistant Majority Leader: Wlnsvey Campos (D-Portland)

Oregon House Democratic Caucus Leadership:

Representative Dan Rayfield House Speaker Corvallis
Representative Julie Fahey Majority Leader  West Eugene & Junction City
Representative Paul Holvey Speaker Pro Tempore Eugene
Representative Andrea Valderrama Majority Whip Portland
Representative Rob Nosse Deputy Majority Whip Portland
Representative Pam Marsh Assistant Majority Leader Ashland
Representative Jason Kropf Assistant Majority Leader Bend
Representative Dacia Grayber Assistant Majority Leader Tigard
BIPOC Caucus Leadership Designee
Representative Tawna Sanchez Co-Chair - Joint Committee on Ways and Means North and Northeast Portland
Representative Nancy Nathanson Chair - House Committee on Revenue Eugene